November Break the Mold Winner, Mackenzie Webster and her Thornwilde students! November Parent Power Winners! BCBMA donation from annual Golf Outing RHS October Sportsmanship Winner - Ryan Woolf Celebrating Karen Byrd for her 20 years on the Board of Education!

Latest News

Boone County Schools...Distinguished Again!

The Boone County Schools, the third largest school district in the Commonwealth of Kentucky, is celebrating the results of the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress or K-PREP administered in the spring of this year and released today by the Kentucky Department of Education. The results show that Boone County Schools continue to be classified as a Distinguished district and in the top 10% of all districts in the Commonwealth.

Cheser Finalist for AASA Award

Congratulations to Deputy Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer Karen Cheser for being named as one of four finalists for the 2015 Women in School Leadership Award.  Co-sponsored by Farmers Insurance and the American Association of School Administrators, the award is designed to recognize exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day and to pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

View All News

Our Mission

District Mission:  Representing and in partnership with our stakeholders, the Boone County School District recognizes that all children can learn and dedicates itself to providing a challenging educational environment that allows each student to achieve to his or her highest potential as a learner and citizen.

District Vision:  Every graduate ready for college, career, and life


Superintendent's Message

Boone County Schools are located in the northern region of Kentucky. We are the third largest school district in the Commonwealth and have the highest test scores of any large, diverse school district. The district is home to twenty-three (23) schools including four high schools, five middle schools...
read more


  • 2014-2015 (72) National Board Certified Teachers
  • 2015 Teacher of the Year Semi-finalists: Stacie Kegley, Longbranch Elementary & Victoria Yeomanson, Cooper High School
  • 2014 KASA Administrator of the Year – Erika Bowles, Longbranch Elementary School Principal
  • 2014 Kentucky PTA Outstanding Educator – Jim Detwiler, Stephens Elementary School Principal
  • 2014 KMEA Outstanding Administrator of the Year – David Rust, R.A. Jones Middle School
  • 2014 National American History Teacher of the Year – Doug Logan, Ockerman Middle School
  • 2014 NTSA Distinguished Teaching Award – Tricia Shelton, Boone County High School
  • 2014 3C Outstanding Educator Award – Victoria Yeomanson, Cooper High School
  • 2013 Superintendent of the Year – Dr. Randy Poe, Boone County Schools
  • 2013 KASA Administrator of the Year – Karen Cheser, Boone County Schools Deputy Superintendent
  • 2013 KASA Administrator of the Year – Tim Hitzfield, Conner High School Principal
  • 2013 Blue Ribbon School – Mann Elementary
  • 2013 Siemens Fellow – Melissa Stolz, R.A. Jones Middle School
  • 2013 Oasis Award Winner
  • 2012 Oasis Award Winner
  • 2012 Kentucky Teacher of the Year – Kim Shearer, Boone County High School